Announcing the 2022 Raymond vonDran iPrize winners

student with a prize check
(Left to right) Justin Gluska with Gisela vonDran and Dean of the iSchool Raj Dewan

Eighteen Syracuse student startup teams captured $40,000 in funding from this year’s RvD iPrize competition sponsored by the iSchool and hosted by the Blackstone LaunchPad. Dean of the iSchool Raj Dewan and Dean of SU Libraries David Seaman joined longtime SU faculty member Gisela vonDran in making the awards. The event honors iSchool dean Raymond Von Dran who served from 1995 until his passing in 2007. He was a longtime academic entrepreneur and staunch supporter of student innovation. To honor his memory and ensure that her husband’s infectious spirit for innovation continued, Gisela generously created the awards which have been awarded annually to top performing Syracuse University students.

This year’s winners included:

Life Sciences, Health, and Wellbeing

  • Bearett Tarris, Natural Gait, $4,000
  • Anthony Mazzacane, Paul Franco and Zach Stahl, Hydro Health, $2,000
  • Justin Monaco and Bruno Gonzalez-Hauger, Illumenar, $1,500

Sustainability and Social Impact Ventures

  • Jared Anderson, Emergency Preparedness Project, $2,500
  • Simran Lakhani, Sense A, $2,500
  • Claire Chevalier, Can Make Compost, $2,500

Consumer Products and Services

  • Noah Mechnig-Giordano, Happy Loose Leaf Tea, $3,750
  • Damaris “Koi” Munyua, Slay-Stainable, $3,750

Software and Technology

  • Justin Gluska, Bus Point, $6,250
  • Travis Ghirdarie, Many Hands, $6,250

Creatives and Digital Ventures

  • Brandon Henry, Beyond The Box, $2,500
  • Zebedayo Masongo, The Grnwood, $1,000
  • John “Jack” Rose, Bladepoint Media, $750
  • Kellan Godfrey, Remote Start, $750

Nearly 40 teams competed in this year’s event. They included:

Aidan MickleburghAbridgd
Alexander RolinskiSice-Me
Anthony Mazzacane, Paul Franco, Zach StahlHydroHealth
Amanda SmithSusBots
Bearett Tarris Natural Gait
Ben DelmarshHere’s My Life
Brandon HenryBeyond the Box
Brian BurtonUmani
Catherine Forrest, Trishla Jain, Abdullah Secwins
Claire ChevalierCan Make Compost
Damaris “Koi” MunyuaSlay-Stainable
Gabe RuoffZephyr-Pay
Elizabeth GoldblattDrake Riley   
Hafiz Awais AfzalRahnumai
Jack Rose Bladepoint Media
Jared AndersonThe Emergency Preparedness Project
Justin DiazEco Bamboo
Justin GluskaBus Point
Justin Monaco, Bruno Gonzalez-HaugerIllumenar
Kai Patriciou-cycl
Kaifeng Chen, Luo Bei, Daniel LimReality
Kellan GodfreyRemote Start
Kelly DavisWo-manly
Lexi CianfraniClub Match
Matthew CastagnozziPsych-Tek
Natasha Lauren BraoHoly Egg
Noah Mechnig-GiordanoHappy Loose Leaf Tea
Sajjad Albadri, Sajjad AlhashamiQPuff
Samantha ChingCoHabit
Selim DangoorMunch Jerky
Shaming MaDouyou Delivery
Simran Lakhani Sense A
Travis GhirdarieMany Hands
Xuhong FangLearn Z
Yuki JiangColor Rush
Zach KatzIndie Watch
Ze ZengPaymenta
Zebedayo Masongo The Grnwood
Yuki JiangColor Rush